Career & Technical Education

Mission Statement:
The Thurston High School CTE Department prepares student for both employment and post secondary education.  CTE courses are for all students and integrate academics with a rigorous, relevant curriculum.

Staff Members:
Sarah Steele – sarah.steele@springfield.k12.or.us
Matt LaBounty – matt.labounty@springfield.k12.or.us – Class Web Site
Polly Kohl – Polly.kohl@springfield.k12.or.us
Greg Proden – greg.proden@springfield.k12.or.us
Diane Amundson – Director of Child Development Center – diane.amundson@springfield.k12.or.us
Jan Hampton – jan.hampton@springfield.k12.or.us
Jeff Rempel – Educational Assistant – jeff.rempel@springfield.k12.or.us
Shauna Drake – Educational Assistant – shauna.drake@springfield.k12.or.us
Mark Bray – E-Cars – mark.bray@springfield.k12.or.us

Thurston offers the following CTE programs:

Family and Consumer Studies – Courses taught by Sarah Steele
Infants and Toddlers
Preschool & Beyond(College Now credit for Infants & Toddlers and
Preschool & Beyond combined)
Careers with Children 1 (College Now Credit)
Careers with Children 2 (College Now Credit)
Preschool Interns
Family Relations
Creative Foods
International Foods

Drafting Technology —courses taught by Greg Proden

Technical Drafting (College Now credit)
Advanced Drafting (College Now credit)
Architectural Drafting (College Now credit)
Project / Leadership Drafting (College Now credit)

Students can earn 13 college credits if they take all 4 levels of drafting.

Manufacturing Technology — Courses taught by Polly Kohl
Welding Technology (College Now credit)
Machine Technology (College Now credit)
Metal Fabrication (College Now credit)
Electrical Circuits
Gasoline Engines
Electric Car Racing – Taught by Mark Bray
Competitive Robotics

Construction Technology—courses taught by Matt LaBounty
Intro to Woods (College Now credit)
Cabinet Making (College Now credit)
Advanced Woodworking (College Now credit)
Creative Furniture
Project/Leadership Woods
Computer aided manufacturing and machining

Robotics Technology – Courses taught by Jan Hampton
Robotics Website

Beginning VEX Robotics
Beginning LEGO Robotics
Competitive Robotics 1/2/3
Project/Leadership robotics

Note:  Trades Academy classes are offered 2nd semester to Jr’s & Sr’s interested in apprenticeship programs in the following area’s:
Sheet Metal
Electrician
Plumbling/Pipe fitting.

Share